ANNUAL REPORT for 2016

Executive Summary

The 2016 NEMPET meeting was dedicated to the memory of founder and long-time organizer Dr. Robert Mortlock who we lost in April. The meeting was a great success. There were 34 attendees, 15 of whom were students (11 undergrads), from 15 different institutions this year. The program included 12 talks and 16 posters. The keynote lecture was given by Dr. Dan Kelting, the Director of the Adirondack Watershed Institute at Paul Smiths College.

This was the first year that the **Ed Leadbetter Memorial Scholarship** was awarded. It went to **Kelsey O'Brien** at Bard College.

Next year is our **35th NEMPET** meeting and we are scheduled for **June 23-25, 2017** at Minnowbrook.

Financial Report 2016

\$3,355.00

\$415.00

\$2,940.00

General Fund

Donations

Awards

Endowment

Starting Assets	\$6,971.38
Cornell Funds	\$6,971.38
Account Balance	\$0.00
Income	\$15,180.00
Registration	\$15,180.00
Corporate Sponsorship	\$0.00
Expenses	\$15,324.16
Minnowbrook Hosting	\$14,178.00
Beverages	\$210.23
Credit Card Fees	\$218.36
Legal Fees	\$427.50
Office Supplies	\$290.07
Ending Balance	\$6,827.22
Scholarship Fund	
Starting Assets	\$0.00

Annual Meeting of NEMPET, Inc.

MinnowBrook Conference Center, Blue Mountain Lake, NY June 24, 2016

PRESIDENT

Craig D. Phelps, Ph.D. Rutgers University

TREASURER

Mary Allen, Ph.D. Hartwick College

SECRETARY

Michael J. Hanophy, Ph.D. St. Joseph's College

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Christa Chatfield, Ph.D. SUNY Cortland

Michael P. Labare, Ph.D. U.S. Military Academy

Michael J. Hanophy, Ph.D. St. Joseph's College

Elizabeth Hutchison, Ph.D. SUNY Geneseo

Craig D. Phelps, Ph.D. Rutgers University

Jeffrey Werner, Ph.D. SUNY Cortland

 Craig Phelps called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM. The following people were in attendance: Christa Chatfield, Michael Hanophy, Betsy Hutchinson, Michael Labare, Craig Phelps, and Jeff Werner.

MOTION 2016 BOT 1: Christa Chatfield moved to accept the minutes of the 2015 meeting

2nd (Jeff Werner)

Motion carried (unanimous)

- Craig asked if there were any motions to make changes to the NEMPT bylaws.
 No changes were proposed.
- Craig asked if the members of the Board wished to continue. All agreed to continue.
- Craig gave the President's Report, noting the following:
 - NEMPET, Inc. is officially an IRS tax-exempt organization, incorporated in the state of New Jersey.
 - o Taxes and annual forms have been submitted to the state.
 - Going forward, the organization will use the simplified postcard form for taxes.
 - NEMPET received \$855 toward the Edward R. Leadbetter Memorial Scholarship; this year's recipient is Kelsey O'Brien of Bard College.
- Craig noted that there is the promise of additional donations in the future. He also suggested that we have special conference badges for the award winners.
- In the absence of the NEMPET treasurer, Mary Allen, Craig presented the Treasurer's Report (see attached).
- It was noted that there were some corporate sponsors for the NEMPET
 meeting in the past (MoBIO, Olympus). We could attempt to offset some costs
 by seeking some sponsorships in the future (possibly from publishers or local
 companies).
- It was further noted that the 2016 NEMPT meeting is dedicated to Bob Morlock.

PRESIDENT

Craig D. Phelps, Ph.D. Rutgers University

TREASURER

Mary Allen, Ph.D. Hartwick College

SECRETARY

Michael J. Hanophy, Ph.D. St. Joseph's College

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Christa Chatfield, Ph.D. SUNY Cortland

Michael P. Labare, Ph.D. U.S. Military Academy

Michael J. Hanophy, Ph.D. St. Joseph's College

Elizabeth Hutchison, Ph.D. SUNY Geneseo

Craig D. Phelps, Ph.D. Rutgers University

Jeffrey Werner, Ph.D. SUNY Cortland

• Plans for 2017 NEMPET:

- The 2017 ASM Meeting will be held in New Orleans, June 1-5 and the ASMCUE Meeting will be held in July.
- The 2017 NEMPT Meeting will be held June 23-25.
- Regarding the 2017 NEMPET Keynote speaker, Craig indicated that he had invited two people to speak at the 2016 meeting who were unable to make it. He will approach them again for the 2017 meeting.

MOTION 2016 BOT 2: Mike Labare moved to adjourn.

2nd (Jeff Werner)

Motion carried (unanimous)

• The meeting was adjourned at 6:57 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael J. Hanophy

Secretary